Uh, what country do you think this is?

So the garage attendant in Ferris Bueller’s Day Off asks that question when they’re dropping off that sweet ride. Apparently, my Samsung Focus running Windows 7.5 (Mango) was also confused. Don’t get me wrong, I love my Windows Phone, but sometimes I just don’t get it. I was trying to download the Translator app (which seems to have a lot of promise), but I kept getting a “c101abb9” error code. After reviewing the results from searching for that on Bing, I decided to snoop around a little. Viewing the Translator app page above online (rather than on my phone) revealed, through a friendly message, that there appeared to be an issue with my Zune/Live ID account with a recommendation that I sign in there to find out more about the issue. So, I dutifully signed into Zune.net, where I was greeted with another error message that Zune couldn’t appear to figure out which country I was in. So, after selecting United States (English) from the drop-down and hitting OK a few times (it apparently took a few tries to take – maybe the server was slow), it finally disappeared, and I could see My Account. Lo and behold, the Translator app now successfully downloaded and installed to the phone.

My apologies to the Zune support guy, Matt B., with whom I’d initiated a chat (after trying the drop-down a few times), as he patiently read my ongoing ramblings whilst trying to get an answer out of me. We spent about 3 minutes in the chat, primarily me typing about what was actually now seeming to start to work. I’m fairly sure he never really did figure out why I started the chat in the first place, but, it all worked out. Now, I’m just waiting to upgrade to this…

Let’s not leave out the most important part…the irony of it all, of course, that this was for the “Translator” app…

Leave a Reply

